Things I've had to hack

Sep 17, 2009 at 1:02 AM

First off, I mostly want to say thank you for the library!! You have no idea how much time/complexity you have saved me.

Being said, in my travels I've run across a few issues and just wanted to let you know about them in case you hadn't noticed. If my solutions seem retarted, please excuse them since I'm a VB coder and this was the first time I've ever had to go through a c# library.

First, my collections are usually instantiated on a non UI thread. The cross-thread events didnt cause a problem with most controls but I did have exceptions with the combobox. I needed a way to set my own dispatcher so I added a property to ContinuousCollection that allowed me to set the UI Thread's Dispatcher.

The second problem also has to do with comboboxes when properties change or items are added/removed from a SortingReadonlyContinuousCollection. If the item was selected at the time of the change, the RemoveItemFromOutput() function would cause the selection to be reset to nothing. This solution was a little trickier (at least for someone who has never coded in c#). I overloaded InsertItemInSortOrder and RemoveItemFromOutput with a boolean that would suppress the FireCollectionChanged call within them.OnItemChanged() now becomes:

void OnItemChanged(INotifyPropertyChanged sender, String PropName)
        {
            TSource item = (TSource)sender;
            int RemoveFrom = RemoveItemFromOutput(item, true);
            int InsertTo = InsertItemInSortOrder(item, true);
            if (RemoveFrom != InsertTo) { FireCollectionChanged(new NotifyCollectionChangedEventArgs(NotifyCollectionChangedAction.Reset));}
            this.OnPropertyChanged(PropName);
        }